Symbol Disco

Carl Gregg : Sign & Symbol

Thoughts on the Semester

Wow, it’s hard to believe that this is the last post. Between this and online design i could publish a 300 pg. book of blogs. This sign and symbol class was a little more intense than the last time I took it. I love making symbols, and the complex aspect of a simple form but sometimes the process is a little excessive. I know I need to really think rationally instead of going straight to the computer and drawing out symbols and sticking with them. I guess I have learned the importance of the process, not only in this class, but in my stay in the graphics dept. There are steps to good design, and yes, you can skip some if needed, but I think the best results will come from a completed process. The food packaging project was really hated, BUT, I haven’t worked a super amount on stuff like that so it taught me some things within itself. My favorite project was the last, of course, it was more labor intensive, but also more fun. In all, I think I got a lot more from this class the second time around.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

